Book Review: Genesis Girl

I enjoy reading novels for young adults partly because some really good writing is being done for this audience and partly because I enjoy writing for teen readers myself. So I try to stay current on as many new YA novels as I can fit into my reading/writing/living schedule.

I just finished reading Jennifer Bardsley’s first book titled Genesis Girl, which is book one in a coming series called Blank Slate.  This debut novel is fresh, original, surprising and authentic. It keeps you guessing. Just when you think you’ve figured out who is trustworthy and who is lying, things shift. Well written, with very interesting and engaging characters.

Here is a teaser quote in the words of the main character, eighteen year old Blanca:

“I wish there was a way to fix this. I wish somebody would tell me what to do. But the only person I can count on right now is me.

That’s how I know I’m screwed.”

I recommend this as a highly entertaining read. I reviewed it briefly over at Goodreads as well, where you can find me and more of my ratings and reviews. Look for Jean. www.goodreads.com/ headshot-edinburgh

I give Genesis Girl the full five stars. If you want a good read, go get this one. And if you read it, come back and tell me what you thought of it.

Leave a Reply

