Book Review: The Walls Around Us

I just finished reading a fine novel for teen readers by Nova Ren Suma, called The Walls Around Us. Have you read it? What do you think or better yet, what questions did it leave in your mind?

I don’t like to write reviews with synopses or too many details because I personally dislike it when someone hits me with a spoiler. But this is what I can say about The Walls Around Us.

I recommend this book as definitely a good read and gave it five stars. It has a very intriguing structure, with two teen girl narrators and a good deal of surreal, magical, and ghostly tone. It is a book filled with wounded people, betrayals, and much yearning after love. It captures the realities of despair and shock in a masterful way. It is mysterious, hard-hitting, and a thriller. It also has the added fun of a lot of details about studying ballet.

If you have read or do read it, let me know what you think.

You can also follow me over at Goodreads, where I’m registered as Jean.

headshot-edinburgh
Jean on Goodreads
Leave a Reply

